Lake Clean Up Reschedule
This coming Saturday was set down to be our first lake clean up, but due to the forecasted continued cold weather, this has been moved back to Saturday 30th March.

Racing continues as per the Season Calendar with this coming Saturday, 16th March being the first round of the 2013 Club Championship.

IOM Ranking Race, Birkenhead 

All skippers wishing to compete are advised to enter online or via their MYA Yearbook form early if they don’t wish to miss out. Late entries on the day will not be accepted.

Northern District IOM Winter Series, 24/2/13

Twenty skippers arrived to a few light and tricky east-north-easterly breezy. Consistency over the day saw Brad Gibson take the win from a close group of John Tushingham in second, Martin Roberts in third, Rob Walsh in fourth and Darin Ballington in fifth. We would like to thank all skippers who travelled and took part in fine spirits in the challenging conditions. Thanks also to our race team Jack, Bernie, Victoria, Dave, Jim and Andrew.

Click to enlarge

More Pictures

RM Winter Series 5, 23/2/13

Saturday saw the final round of the club Marblehead Winter Series with Bill Culshaw not only taking the win on the day in light to fickle A suit conditions, but going on to win the overall event from Brad Gibson and Ernie Rice. This was the first year we have run a Marblehead Winter Series at the club and after attracting 10 entries, we look to an even bigger fleet throughout the year with a few regulars returning.

1. Bill Culshaw,   8
2. Brad Gibson,   13
3. Ernie Rice,   18
4. Darin Ballington,   19
5. Jim Findlay,   20
6. Victoria McNulty,   24
7. Dave Pickup,   39
8. Les Kewn,   43

8 races

Coming Events

A reminder to all that this coming Saturday, 23/2/13, is the final round of the RM Winter Series. Start time 1pm.


Sunday, 24/2/13, is the Northern District IOM Winter Series Open Race, with a start time of 10am sharp. Entry is £4 which includes a Hotpot lunch. Please make sure you enter with Brad if you wish to sail.


Club Calendar
The Club Calendar for 2013 is now posted above on this site. This is a reminder that from 2/3/13 club races days will start from 2pm sharp.


IOM Ranking
This year we are hosting a National IOM 2 day Ranking Race over 22nd and 23rd June and will require skippers not planning on racing to assist in organising this event to properly reflect that of the countries number one league club. The racing is counted as 2 separate  race days, so if you wish to sail only the one day and help on another, this is possible. Entries for this event will need to be made through the official MYA means by either online or yearbook. Look for online entry to open in early March on the MYA website. Anyone able to offer assistance, please contact Brad, or a member of the sailing committee.


RM Ranking
We are hosting a National RM Ranking Race on Sunday 4/8/13 and have grouped this with a Saturday RM club race to attract greater numbers of travelling skippers.  We will promoting this within the MYA as two days of RM racing to show this as being the way forward for the class, both on a racing an social level that justifies the expense of travel.


ND Workshop
The Birkenhead club, on behalf of the Northern District will be hosting a Workshop/Tuning Day on 10/8/13. We anticipate having to limit places for this and will be prioritising available spaces to Northern District members initially. More details to follow when they come to hand, but if you’re in the North and want tips from the likes of Roberts, Elliott, Walsh and Gibson, put this date in your diary.