RM Hornby Cup, 28/4/12

The Hornby Cup for Radio Marbleheads had 11 skippers in total with some very close racing had in the gusty NE conditions. Setting a true course with a long beating leg was tricky at times, but there was enough shifting in the wind to reward those who worked had for it. It was great to see relative RM newcomers Bill Culshaw and Jim Findlay scoring low scores, along with the re-emergence of World Champion Martin Roberts sailing #55 joining in from race 6 onwards. With the prospect of a couple more boats joining us soon, the RMs at Birkenhead are strengthening once again, come and join us.

1. Brad Gibson,   8 pts
2. Bill Culshaw,   20
3. Jim Findlay,   27
4. Dave Wayt,   33
5. Vernon Gee,   40
6. Dave Williams,   45
7. Ernie Rice,   47
8. Martin Roberts,   50
9. Charles Lyth,   65
10. Colin Galvin,   88
11. George Laverick,   91

IOM Club Championship 2, 21/4/12

18 skippers took part in often tricky B suit conditions from the NW blowing generally down the middle of the lake. The racing was extremely close amongst the fleet with some very good individual performances throughout the day.
Progressive Club Championship results are updated and posted here.

1.  Brad Gibson,   9 pts
2. Martin Roberts,   16
3. Graham Elliott,   21
4. Richard Hampson,   31
5. Victoria McNulty,  32
6. Bill Culshaw,   56
7. Dave Williams,   57
8. Colin Smith,   58
9. Ernie Rice,   65
10. Dave Burke,   68
11. Vernon Gee,   87
12. Colin Galvin,   91
13. Dave Wayt,   94
14. Frank Smedley,   97
15. Roy Washbrook,   99
16. Jim Findlay,   114
17. David Pickup,   119
18. David Catherall,   131

800 Open Class Racing 1, 21/4/12

Our first race day for our Open Class smaller boats was well attended with 10 skippers taking part in total. Racing was held using the staggered windward mark RYGGED system to keep things interesting with all skippers and boats improving as races wore on. It was great to see the next generation of Roberts’ skippers enjoying the racing and it is hoped that future days more skippers will join in for some fun racing.
Thanks to PROs Brad Gibson and Dave Burke.

1. Charles Lyth,   Own Design,   14 pts
2. Bernie McNulty,   Micro Magic,   15
3. Terry Roberts,   Victoria,   16
4. Victoria McNulty,   Micro Magic,   20
5. Ernie Rice,   Micro Magic,   22
6. Jim Findlay,   Micro Magic,   23
7. Dave Williams,   Victoria,   45
8. David Pickup,   Victoria,   46
Zak Roberts,   Micro Magic
Sam Roberts,   Micro Magic

Open 800 Class Racing

This coming Saturday 21st April is the first day of open class racing for boats no longer than 800mm. Bring along your Micro Magic, Victoria, RG65 or anything else you wish to race that fits.

First race starts at 11.30am sharp with no racing starting after 1.00pm. Racing will be staged using a modified RYGGED system to handicap all to keep things close.
IOM racing will follow from 2.00pm sharp.

IOM Handicap, 7/4/12

Our first handicap race of the year saw a lovely A rig breeze blowing straight down the middle of the lake from the top end. All skippers had their chance to shine throughout the day with 7 different heat winners showing that the skippers with the most consistent results according to their handicap placed strongly. Congratulations to Roy Washbrook whose worst scoring race on the day after two discards was a 6th place showing great consistency to win.

1. Roy Washbrook,   30 pts
2. Richard Hampson,   33
3. Victoria McNulty,   36
4. Brad Gibson,   38
5. Colin Smith,   45
6. Colin Galvin,   45
7. Vernon Gee,   47
8. Bill Culshaw,   47
9. Jim Finday,   47
10. Graham Elliott,   47
11. Dave Wayt,   51
12. Dave Williams,   54
13. George Laverick,   112 (Andrew Benson)