Marblehead Open Sailing at West Kirby #2 29/6/19

What a difference a few hours make at West Kirby, 10 skippers gathered at 12.30, not a breath of wind, by 1pm a nice top suit and by 3pm an even nicer ‘C’ rig wind.
With PRO Peter Baldwin opting for quite a lengthy course with a nice bias on the start line and skippers not 100% sure which end they favoured it was good practice for both the race team and the skippers for the upcoming Nationals at West Kirby in July.
After the first 5 races in top suit, it was Darin Ballington who finally came to grips with the course and registered wins in races 3,4 and 5, closely followed by Andrea Roberts. The wind then quite suddenly gusted up to ‘C’ rig and a rig change rest was called, this sudden increase in wind is now common at West Kirby and one to look out for in 3 weeks time.
Race 6 was won by Bill Culshaw by half a leg, finally getting to grips with the lake and his boat. In the end though it was Darin who took the day with Andrea’s consistent sailing and finishing in the top 3 in every race gaining her second place. Our other lady skipper, Tracey Ballington sailing well in races 3 and 7 to gain 2, 4th places.
After sailing we retired to ‘The Farmers’ for a few pints and a meal and where informed that between Penelope, Emily and Millie they had managed to catch 204 crabs whilst we sailed, a new West Kirby record!
Many thanks to Peter, Bernie and Jack on lakeside and boatmen Dave and John.
  1.   Darin Ballington         98        11 pts
  2.   Andrea Roberts            55        16 pts
  3.  Graham Elliott                9         27 pts
  4.  Martin Roberts            122        28 pts
  5.  Bill Culshaw                    21         30 pts
  6. Mike Parkington            82         34 pts
  7. Damian Ackroyd           101         39 pts
  8. Tracey Ballington          07        41 pts
  9.  John Taylor                     28         46 pts
  10.  Neil Westbrook              58        65 pts

9 Races sailed.  Photos courtesy of Alan Watkinson more in the Gallery

DragonForce Spring Series #13 26/6/19

  1. A light breeze from the clubhouse greeted sailors this week with shifts that seem to grow larger as the morning went on as the breeze dropped in strength.  Key to success was finding the breeze (and having a bit of luck) to keep your boat moving as much as possible.  John Brierley, Neil Westbrook and Peter Baldwin were all vying for the lead in most races, with each sharing 3 wins apiece at the end.  Dave Williams was the other winner of the 10 races completed. When the scores were added up, Peter was first on  14pts, John second on 16 pts and Neil third on 18 pts.

Thanks again go to Ernie for acting as Race Officer for the morning.

  1.  Peter Baldwin               14 pts
  2.  John Brierley                 16 pts
  3.  Neil Westbrook             18 pts
  4.  Alan Watkinson           28 pts
  5.  Kris Morrow                  38 pts
  6.  Dave Williams              39 pts
  7.  Colin Deakin                  52 pts
  8.  Richard Walker            53 pts
  9.  Chris Weston                 70 pts

10 races sailed

DragonForce Spring Series #12 19/6/19

A light NNW breeze filled the lake as the 6 sailors started in A+ rigs and a good length course set by Neil.  There were some large shifts occurring and if you tacked on the shift rather than the initial header there were some good gains to be found.  John took the day again with 9 wins from the 12 races, although Neil and occasionally Alan were pushing him hard all the way to the finish.  There were some close finishes for Ernie to record with everyone finishing within 20 seconds in most races and occasionally just 10 seconds.

Thanks go to Ernie for again acting as RO.

    1. John Brierley        11 pts
    2. Neil Westbrook    16 pts
    3. Alan Watkinson   32 pts
    4. Peter Baldwin       37 pts
    5. Dave  Williams      46 pts  (2x3rd)
    6. Colin Deakin          46 pts (0x3rd)

12 races sailed

DragonForce Spring Series #11 12/6/19

After the tremendous rain storms, 6 sailors turned up to a full lake but hardly any wind. Ernie set a long course and kept a tight schedule and managed to hold 10 races. Renewed member Kris, who now has boat 94, found his old form and took a very hard fought 2nd place.
1st      John Brierley          11pts
2nd   Kris Morrow            21pts
3rd    Alan Watkinson     23pts
4th    Neil Westbrook      24pts
5th     Derek Matthews   25pts   (2 x 4ths)
6th     Dave Williams       25pts    (1 x 4th)
10 Races sailed

DragonForce Spring Series #10 5/6/19

Seven sailors kept under the watchful eyes of Sally and Ernie completed nine races in what turned out to be very difficult conditions, with light winds coming over the houses at inconsistent times making some of the legs a lottery.
1st.         John Brierley          9pts
2nd.       Neil Westbrook    16pts
3rd.        Alan Watkinson   19 pts
4th.        Dave Williams      22pts
5th.        Richard Walker    26pts
6th.        Colin Deakin         33pts
7th.         Chris Weston       50pts

Marblehead Open Sailing at West Kirby #1

10 boats, 5 different designs, 5 knots of South/East wind, 18 degrees temperature, what’s there not to like about todays sailing at West Kirby.
Just a quick report as there is going to be a small football match going on in Madrid. There were 3 race winners in Darin Ballington, Graham Elliott and Andrea Roberts.
Darin ended being the deserved winner for the day but there were many good races by all skippers at some stage and all ended with a pint in the Farmers.
Thanks to Dave Williams and Zak Roberts in the rib, Jack and Bernie for starting and finishing the fleet and lets look forward to the next warm up race which takes place on the 29th of June as preparation  for the Marblehead Nationals in July.
  1.   Darin Ballington       98       12 pts
  2.   Graham Elliott             9        19 pts
  3.   Andrea Roberts           55       22 pts
  4.   John Smith                    43       24 pts
  5.   Colin Walton                  3        41 pts
  6.   Martin Roberts           122      48 pts
  7.   Neil Westbrook            58      58 pts
  8.   Damian Ackroyd         101      60 pts
  9.   Bill Culshaw                    21      61 pts
  10.   Tracey Ballington         07     62 pts

10 races sailed

More photos in the Gallery