IOM 2018 #2 – 14th April 2018

A lovely sunny day with a light SE wind kicking in 10 minutes before the start, just after Martin arrived on his bike to be precise! As always with light winds from the SE, plenty of shifts and holes for the 18 skippers to navigate for the 10 races.

We welcomed 3 visitors, Phil Howarth, John Berry and Howard Carver and hope they enjoyed the sailing enough to return. It was also good to welcome back Lawrence Drennan after his enforced break from sailing, well done Lawrence.

A windward leeward course of two laps with a well placed gate at the leeward end was set by Peter Baldwin, the start line was tight at times but also proved to be well placed. Early pace setters were Graham Birkett, Dave Potter, Martin Roberts and Graham Elliott, all enjoying race wins before a cuppa and a biscuit, thanks Joyce, much appreciated. The wind and the top four stayed constant after tea and all took race wins on the day along with Peter Baldwin taking race 6. Consistent sailing by Mike Parkington and Alan Watkinson must be mentioned along with some great results by fair weather sailor, Graham Birkett.

Thanks to our infamous double act of Bernie and Jack for running the show.

  1. Graham Elliott 18 Pts
  2. Martin Roberts 20
  3. Graham Birkett 27
  4. Peter Baldwin 30
  5. Dave Potter 35
  6. Bill Culshaw 38
  7. Mike Parkington 41
  8. Roger Lincoln 58
  9. Alan Watkinson 68
  10. Neil Westbrook 72
  11. Andrew Peter 79
  12. Sue Parkington 81
  13. Sally Collings 87
  14. John Berry 93
  15. Howard Carver 100
  16. Phil Howarth 106
  17. Lawrence Drennan 107 (One 8th)
  18. Dave Williams 107 (No 8th)

10 races sailed.

IOM News

This weekend, all eyes turn to Rogoznica,  Croatia where the IOM European Championships are being held from 8th to 13th April. Anyone wanting to follow the progress of our local sailors can do so on the event website at

For those not fortunate enough to be in Croatia,  Fleetwood MYPBC  are holding their Mayoral Cup Open meeting for IOMs on Sunday 8th April – full details on the Fleetwood Website


Forthcoming Events – Easter Weekend

This coming Easter Weekend sees the start of our IOM series on Saturday 31st March (10 days in series, 6 best to count). A reminder that this year this is an Open Series and members from other MYA Clubs are welcome to attend (£2 on the day). Racing starts at 13.00 prompt.

For those with RG65s and DF65s, our friends at Fleetwood have announced a pop-up Open Event on Easter Monday starting at 09.45 Full details are available on the Fleetwood Website

On The Road – Travelling Members

All winter series racing has now come to a close and spring is in the air!

Well it did not feel like spring for the last race of the DF65 winter series at West Lancs SC, Southport last Sunday. Very cold but as in the previous races well attended by Birkenhead Club members. The series started in early January with barmy light winds and sunshine and finished in March in sub zero conditions and winds that blew dogs of the quay side.

Club members who attended all or parts of the series were Alan Watkinson, Dave Williams, Andrew Peter, Dave Pickup, Roger Lincoln and John Brierley. All agreed an excellent series which ran on alternate weekends along with our IOM Winter series at Gautby Rd.

Overall John Brierley won the event and Alan Watkinson was 4th

Attention now turns to the IOM ranking event at Lincoln this weekend with a good turn out of club members already on the entry list.

John Brierley

IOM 2017/18 Winter Series #7 (10/03/18)

One Metres Birkenhead

A steady (ish) south-easterly breeze greeted 10 eager skippers for the final round of the famous Birkenhead IOM Winter Series. Several of the usual suspects were missing, no doubt saving Mothers day brownie points so they could attend the first Marblehead ranker at Watermead on Sunday.

In total 27 skippers have competed and running into the final day any of the top 6 could have won. That said, 2013 World Champion Rob Walsh from Fleetwood had won each of the days he sailed and although not leading going into the final race, due to not having a discard, a betting man would put his money on Rob winning with a perfect score of 400.

The first race was led by Paul Allen, with Rob and Martin Roberts scrapping for second and third. This set the tone for the day, with these three sharing most of the top 3 places in all 9 races with Rob claiming more first places.

After some post brew drizzle the breeze dropped and begun to shift to the forecasted southerly. With this come several general recalls as the course became biased on starboard tack.

After 9 races Rob Walsh won with 10 points, Paul Allen was second with 16 points and Martin Roberts third on 21 points.

  1. Rob Walsh 10 Pts
  2. Paul Allen 16
  3. Martin Roberts 21
  4. John Brierley 29
  5. Emilio Gonzalez 38
  6. Peter Baldwin 49
  7. Alan Watkinson 51
  8. Mike Parkington 54
  9. Sue Parkington 65
  10. Andrew Peter 70  (one 5th)
  11. Dave Williams 70 (No 5ths)
  12. Garry Box 74

10 races sailed.


Series Results

As some may have forecasted Rob Walsh won the 2017/18 IOM Winter Series scoring the perfect 400. Paul Allen was second scoring 375 and Graham Elliott was third scoring 366.

Full series results here