IOM Club Championship 7, 11/8/12

Finally a warm sunny day in the North West where 22 boats showed up for Round 7 of the IOM Club Championship. Racing was tight throughout the fleet in the light to moderate ESE wind which provided plenty of shift to test the nerves.

1. Brad Gibson,   15 pts
2. Martin Roberts,   18
3. Graham Elliott,   23
4. Rob Walsh,   25
5. Chris Elliott,   49 *
6. Graham Birkett,   54
7. Victoria McNulty,   56
8. Richard Hampson,   61
9. Dave Burke,   70
10. Colin Smith,  74
11. Rob McIntosh,   82 *
12. Bill Culshaw,   88
13. Vernon Gee,   101
14. Peter Chester,   101 *
15. Jim Findlay,   102
16. David Staniforth,   106
17. Dave Williams,   115
18. Roy Washbrook,   118
19. David Catherall,   139
20. Greg Burke,   141
21. Albert Stanley,   144
22. Colin Galvin,   157

10 race
* Visitors

IOM Team Racing, 28/7/12

A nice mid to top end A rig breeze welcomed 15 skippers for this year’s team race. Teams were divided in to four with the best three finishers from each team scored on each race. In the end, after 10 races, it was the White Team of Bill Culshaw, Jim Findlay and Victoria McNulty taking the win narrowly from the Blue Team of David Catherall, Lisa Reeves, Ernie Rice and Rob Walsh. The day once again proved a success for the concept as club members of mixed standard benefited from working with and learning from their team mates.

1st White Team,   127 pts
Bill Culshaw
Jim Findlay
Victoria McNulty

2nd Blue Team,   135
          David Catherall
          Lisa Reeves
          Ernie Rice
          Rob Walsh

3rd Orange Team,   154
          Greg Burke
          Peter Chester
          Brad Gibson
          Dave Williams

4th Yellow Team,   179
          Andrew Benson
          Dave Burke
          Richard Hampson


Our Condolences
It is with great sadness that we learn of the passing of Club Life Member Rona Galvin, wife of Club President Colin. Over many years Rona supported Colin’s sailing each and every week, along with keeping the club canteen in good order and often totaling end of race day scores. Her welcoming service to the club will be sorely missed by all who have sailed with Birkenhead. The best wishes of all members are with Colin and family at this time.

Micro Magic Open Race

Sundays racing was the Micro Magic Open Race with 7 visiting skippers joining Victoria and Bernie for a total of 9. Shifting winds and the unannounced arrival of power boat members made this a difficult day. In the end after 14 races John Tushingham was the clear winner on 16 points.

1. John Tushingham,   16
2. David Staniforth,   35
3. Liz Tushingham,   38
4. Andrew Benson,   38
5. Keith Coxon,   40
6. Barrie Norman,   70
7. Adam Foley,   78
8. Bernie McNulty,   94
9. Victoria McNulty,   96